It is currently 30 Apr 2017, 04:02



Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Moderators: Macey, Jonas Hummelstrand, didikunz

Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby kolya » 25 Sep 2011, 19:03

Hi there,

The scenario is the following :

We have a live multicam event, each cam being plugged into a different SDI card (meaning several input SDI cards in the server) or a different input of a multi-input SDI card like the BlueFish Epoch Supernova (which provides 4 input channels).
We want of course to overlay graphics on top of the program, but also to switch between the different source cameras inside CasparCG - and to output the final mix in SDI to feed an IPTV encoder (like Open Broadcast Encoder).
This means avoiding the use of an external hardware vision mixer and replacing it by CasparCG.

Do you think this is something that can be done ? Or maybe you already did it ?

Thanks for your feedback :idea:
Nicolas
kolya
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Sep 2011, 18:44

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby Robert Nagy » 25 Sep 2011, 19:27

You could probably do something like that using CasparCG 2.0. This is nothing we have tested.

CasparCG 2.0 does not support Bluefish input, however Decklink input is supported.

You could use one or more Decklink Quad cards, which have 4 input/output devices.

As an example you could do something like.

Create 2 channels, one channel for the output with a Decklink device, and one channel for "preview" of cameras currently not visible.

Code: Select all
<channels>
    <channel>
         <video-mode>720p5000</video-mode>
         <consumers>
             <decklink>
                  <device>1</device>
             </decklink>
         </consumers>
    </channel>
    <channel>
         <video-mode>720p5000</video-mode>
         <consumers>
             <screen>
                  <windowed>false</windowed>
             </screen>
         </consumers>
    </channel>
</channels>


You configure the preview channel to use a grid and load each camera.

Code: Select all
MIXER 1 GRID 2
PLAY 2-0 DECKLINK DEVICE 2
PLAY 2-1 DECKLINK DEVICE 3
PLAY 2-2 DECKLINK DEVICE 4


Then you can swap the camera over to the "output" channel:

Code: Select all
SWAP 2-0 1-0


This will swap the content of channel 1 layer 0 (which is empty) with the content of channel 2 layer 0 (which is camera 2).

If you don't need or want the preview, you could simply load you cameras initially to invisible layers and then swap them in and out from there, e.g:

Code: Select all
MIXER 1-100 OPACITY 0.0
MIXER 1-101 OPACITY 0.0
MIXER 1-101 OPACITY 0.0
PLAY 1-100 DECKLINK DEVICE 2
PLAY 1-101 DECKLINK DEVICE 3
PLAY 1-102 DECKLINK DEVICE 4
CasparCG Integrator, Developer and Consultant
Former CasparCG Lead Developer
Feel free to contact me (ronag@live.com) if you need any CasparCG related support, development or other consulting.
Robert Nagy
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: 20 Apr 2009, 20:22
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby Jonas Hummelstrand » 25 Sep 2011, 19:54

We would love to hear your experiences if you set this up, we don't have any DeckLink Quad cards yet.
Jonas Hummelstrand
Independent Consultant at SuperFly.tv
Former Community Manager for CasparCG

Problems? Guide to posting Bug reports & Feature requests
User avatar
Jonas Hummelstrand
 
Posts: 2538
Joined: 21 Apr 2009, 08:07
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby kolya » 25 Sep 2011, 20:05

Wow, blazing fast answer, thanks Robert !

I'll be trying to grab such a DeckLink QUad card and prototype this - I'm in a crew where people try to find the smartest ideas to build up low-cost IPTV channels.

And in any case I'll be mentioning CasparCG in my upcoming blog post which title is "How to build your own TV Channel with Open-Source & other goodies" on blog.eltrovemo.com - stay tuned...

Keep up the good work, guys : you rock !

Nicolas
(twitter.com/supakolya)
kolya
 
Posts: 2
Joined: 25 Sep 2011, 18:44

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby Robert Nagy » 25 Sep 2011, 20:08

Feel free to post here or join our irc channel if you need further help with the setup. Also as Jonas said, we appreciate any and all feedback.
CasparCG Integrator, Developer and Consultant
Former CasparCG Lead Developer
Feel free to contact me (ronag@live.com) if you need any CasparCG related support, development or other consulting.
Robert Nagy
 
Posts: 1271
Joined: 20 Apr 2009, 20:22
Location: Gothenburg, Sweden

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby aircooled76 » 29 May 2012, 09:38

Hi Kolya,

Did you end up getting this working for your event?

We are looking at something similar....

cheers

Mike P
User avatar
aircooled76
 
Posts: 175
Joined: 14 May 2012, 02:12

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby Theo » 03 Jun 2012, 11:10

This great!
I got it working with a Decklink HD Extreme as output and a Decklink Studio 2 as input.
Also live scaledown is possible although de video gets deinterlaced (progresive) with this effect.
(MIXER FILL 0.25 0.25 0.6 0.6)

You also get latency of the input of about 20 frames

regards,
Theo
Regards,
Theo Kooijmans
UniversalDV
User avatar
Theo
 
Posts: 88
Joined: 03 Jun 2012, 10:44
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby vimlesh1975 » 04 Jun 2012, 11:52

it may be so simple as configuring 1st card as output and rest as input
play 1-1 decklink 2
play 1-1 decklink 3
play 1-1 decklink 4
play 1-1 red
play 1-1 blue

put each command under separate button and click which camera you want on line.
User avatar
vimlesh1975
 
Posts: 596
Joined: 29 Aug 2011, 11:42
Location: Doordarshan, Mumbai, India

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby maxcastro » 08 Jun 2012, 17:26

Hi,

is it possible to use 4 preview screens for grid view? I am trying to preview seperated media files.
Just got one DeckLink HD extreme 3D for output.

greets max
maxcastro
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Apr 2012, 14:25

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby Jonas Hummelstrand » 08 Jun 2012, 17:49

Yes, you can use a 2x2 grid and output it to either a computer screen or via SDI from your DeckLink card.
Jonas Hummelstrand
Independent Consultant at SuperFly.tv
Former Community Manager for CasparCG

Problems? Guide to posting Bug reports & Feature requests
User avatar
Jonas Hummelstrand
 
Posts: 2538
Joined: 21 Apr 2009, 08:07
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby maxcastro » 08 Jun 2012, 18:12

Im looking for it in the WIKI but i dont know the syntax. Is it like :

EDIT, tried:

MIXER 1 GRID 2
LOADBG 2-0 AMB
PLAY 2-0 AMB
LOADBG 2-1 AMB
PLAY 2-1 AMB

still not working. i guess this syntax is wrong
maxcastro
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Apr 2012, 14:25

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby Jonas Hummelstrand » 08 Jun 2012, 18:51

Yes, the Wiki is really out of date, and it's being re-written as we speak.
However, the AMCP 2.0 page is pretty complete and up to date:
http://casparcg.com/wiki/CasparCG_2.0_A ... MIXER_GRID

Here's another forum post that might help:
viewtopic.php?f=6&t=726&p=3579&hilit=mixer#p3579
Jonas Hummelstrand
Independent Consultant at SuperFly.tv
Former Community Manager for CasparCG

Problems? Guide to posting Bug reports & Feature requests
User avatar
Jonas Hummelstrand
 
Posts: 2538
Joined: 21 Apr 2009, 08:07
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: Can CasparCG be used as a vision mixer ?

Postby maxcastro » 09 Jun 2012, 15:08

Hi,

problem solved. all i wanted to do was:

MIXER 2 GRID 2
PLAY 2-1 file
PLAY 2-2 file
PLAY 2-3 file
PLAY 2-4 file

Image

now there is one preview consumer screen with grid view on my computer display and one decklink device output to HD Display. for play-out previewed media files in a grid view:

SWAP 2-1 1

how do i display media files on my output screen without use SWAP?
is it possible to use a command similar to:

PLAY 1 2-1

now i am trying to add another consumer screen for decklink device output preview but i dont know how.
it would be nice to mix media files and input signal within a preview consumer screen on the desktop display
before output on the HD Display.EDIT: Like i said, im using one single HD extreme 3D card for input and output. do you have any idea how to handle this?

so far it is great to use CasparCG.
regards, max
maxcastro
 
Posts: 10
Joined: 11 Apr 2012, 14:25


Return to General discussions

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest